Answered: Sacramento’s Enneagram type

We love a good navel gaze

A colorful diagram of the nine Enneagram personality types.

A colorful diagram of the nine Enneagram personality types.

Screenshot via Houston Moms

Table of Contents

Answered: What is Sacramento’s Enneagram type?

Last week, we told you all about the Enneagram personality system and today, we’re sharing Sacramento’s reader-anointed Enneagram type.

As voted by a majority of our readers, Sac’s Enneagram is Type 3, the Achiever. But we also had some folks suggest Type 7, the Enthusiast.

Here’s what some of you had to say:

“We are pretty goal-oriented/image-focused/stable overall, but have some outlets for individual expression and beauty.”

“Governmental base.”

“Adaptability, diversified, and environmentally conscious.”

Asked: What is Sacramento’s Enneagram type?

There’s no doubt you’ve heard Sacramentans discussing astrology signs at length, and maybe even Myers-Briggs — but have you ever heard of the Enneagram?

This dynamic personality system, which is composed of nine types, has increased in popularity over the last decade — just look at the Google search trends. Plus, it’s become a popular topic among local therapists, coaches, influencers, and creatives.

Pro tip: If you want to be on the pulse, check out The Maxey Co. — local enneagram coaches who work with individuals and businesses to reach their full potential while building positive relationships.

So, how does it work?

According to The Enneagram School of Awakening, the Enneagram aims to identify our core motivations, patterns + fixations at a deeper level to understand how they affect our approaches to life, work, and relationships. Practitioners also believe that it can be a great tool for developing empathy, strengthening communication, and enabling personal growth.

Another way to look at it: each person has an essential nature (or essence) that drives their personality, temperament, and decisions. To uncover your type, coaches typically recommend reading through a hefty description and choosing the type that you resonate with most. Cool, right?

What are the types?

Type 1 – The Reformer: Rational, idealistic, principled + perfectionistic.
Essence: Purity

Type 2 – The Helper: Caring, interpersonal, generous + people-pleasing.
Essence: Compassion

Type 3 – The Achiever: Success-oriented, pragmatic, adaptable, driven + image-conscious.
Essence: Love, Acceptance

Type 4 – The Individualist: Sensitive, introspective, expressive, dramatic + self-absorbed.
Essence: Radiance, Beauty

Type 5 – The Investigator: Intense, cerebral, perceptive, innovative, secretive + isolated.
Essence: Omniscience, Peace

Type 6 – The Loyalist: Committed, security-oriented, engaging, responsible, anxious + suspicious.
Essence: Wisdom

Type 7 – The Enthusiast: Busy, variety-seeking, spontaneous, versatile, acquisitive + scattered.
Essence: Serene Bliss

Type 8 – The Challenger: Powerful, dominating, self-confident, decisive, willful + confrontational.
Essence: Power, Innocence

Type 9 – The Peacemaker: Easygoing, self-effacing, receptive, reassuring, agreeable + complacent.
Essence: Harmony

More from SACtoday